mapSpain is a Parliamentary Monarchy Kingdom composed of 17 regions that we call Autonomous Communities. Each Community has different characteristics. Here we share a list of some of them. Nevertheless, investments can be made in any Community, region or city of Spain.

Capital of Spain, located in the middle of Spain. Its metropolitan population of over 7 million people makes it one of the biggest European cities. Almost all of the central government of Spain and many national and international headquarters are located in Madrid. It combines modern infrastructure with historic buildings and places. Madrid is also home to two world-class football teams: Real Madrid and Atletico de Madrid, and to three world recognised museums such as El Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen-Bornemisza.

Catalonia consists of 4 provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida and Tarragona. It is located in the north-east of Spain, bordering France. Catalonia is one of the largest European industrial metropolitan areas. Barcelona is considered the capital of the Mediterranean Sea, due to its immense tourism rate. Even so, Catalonia still dedicates 33% of its land to agricultural use. It is home to FC Barcelona, as well as to many international companies such as Roca, Freixenet and Seat. Some of the main attractions and monuments are the Sagrada Familia, the Guell Park, or the Casa Batllo and Casa Mila, two of Gaudi’s best architectural buildings.

Galicia is a Community in the north-west part of Spain, just above Portugal. Galicia is composed by A Coruña, Lugo, Ourense and Pontevedra. The coastline of Galicia is over 1.600 km long, and it is one of the main fishing areas of Spain. Galicia is also characterised by its hilly landscape. Compared to the rest of Spain, excluding certain areas in the north, it tends to be more rainy and cooler.

Basque country:
The Basque country is a Community situated in the North of Spain, and it includes the provinces of Alava, Biscay and Gipuzkoa. Some of its main climate features are the extensive green areas and forests and its wet weather and moderate temperatures throughout the year. The Basque country is the Community with the highest GDP per capita of Spain, being home to enormous companies such as BBVA, Iberdrola, or Mondragon Cooperative Corporation.

It is the second largest and the most inhabited Community situated in the South of Spain. Once being part of the Islamic Empire, it is composed of 8 provinces: Almeria, Cadiz, Cordoba, Granada, Huelva, Jaen, Malaga and Seville. Andalusia buildings have both Arabic and Roman influences, as well as being the home of very traditional Spanish cultural phenomena such as flamenco, bullfighting and Moorish influenced architectural styles.

The Community of Valencia is formed by Castellon, Valencia and Alicante, and it is the fourth most populated with over 5.1 million inhabitants. It is located in the south-east of the Iberian Peninsula, having direct access to the Mediterranean Sea. The origins of various traditional Spanish dishes are from the Valencian Community, such as paella, horchata or turron. One of Valencia’s newest attractions is the City of Arts and Sciences, which holds the largest aquarium in Europe.

Balearic Islands:
They are an archipelago of Spain situated in the western Mediterranean Sea, around 200km offshore from Spain. The climate is typically Mediterranean, and its cuisine combines both Catalan and Spanish gastronomy.

Canary Islands:
The Canary Islands are a Spanish archipelago located off the southern coast of Morocco. They are a major tourist destination, with over 12 million visitors per year, due to their beaches, subtropical climate with warm winters and natural attractions such as Mount Teide. All of the 7 large islands and numerous smaller islands that comprise the Canary Islands are volcanic in origin.